Thompson overcomes penalty, can't overcome Ryu

Lexi Thompson almost pulled off one of the most dramatic victories in the history of golf on Sunday, overcoming a four-shot penalty, but So Yeon Ryu was too much for her to overcome in a playoff in the ANA Inspiration, the year's first LPGA major.

Ryu made a short birdie putt on the first playoff hole to win at Mission Hills Country Club.

Most of the drama, however, came long before the playoff.

Thompson was leading the tournament and had just completed the 12th hole when she was informed by a rules official that a TV viewer had emailed officials and asked them to look at the video of Thompson marking her ball on the 17th hole on Saturday. Officials determined that she replaced it in a slightly different position relative to her coin than it had originally been in.

"Is this a joke?" Thompson asked.

Source : The Golf Channel

posted at 03 Apr 2017 10:18:30

 



Mobile

Coming Soon! Thaigolfer Mobile (aka mCaddy) to keep your score, track distances, loads of stats about your round and more.

Newsletter

Stay up to date with the Thaigolfer Newsletter.

Sign In

Please fill out the following form with your login credentials:




Hint: Forgot your password?. Click