Monday Scramble: Bad rules and Mr. Cool

Dustin Johnson won the 116th U.S. Open, but it wasn’t without drama. Johnson was told on the 12th tee that he might incur a one-stroke penalty at the end of his round, in relation to his ball moving on the fifth green. Johnson made the possibility of a deduction null and void, winning by three shots.

Leaderboard: Dustin Johnson (-4), Jim Furyk (-1), Scott Piercy (-1), Shane Lowry (-1), Sergio Garcia (Even), Branden Gace (Even)

What it means: So many things. It means Dustin Johnson is, finally, a major champion. It means people can ask him about winning this U.S. Open and not losing last year’s. It means people have to respect his ability to overcome adversity. And it means that this could be the first of a few more major victories.

Round of the day: Johnson’s 1-under 69. Not only did DJ shoot an under-par round on Sunday at Oakmont, but he did so with the knowledge – for seven holes – that the USGA could dock him a shot upon conclusion. Johnson’s ball moved on the fifth green as he was about to address his ball. It was deemed that he did not cause the ball to move, but a USGA official approached him at No. 12 and said the situation would be reviewed at the end of the round. Officials did assess a penalty, but, fortunately for all involved, it did not cost Johnson his first major.

Source : The Golf Channel

posted at 21 Jun 2016 07:41:49

 



Mobile

Coming Soon! Thaigolfer Mobile (aka mCaddy) to keep your score, track distances, loads of stats about your round and more.

Newsletter

Stay up to date with the Thaigolfer Newsletter.

Sign In

Please fill out the following form with your login credentials:




Hint: Forgot your password?. Click